Security Fault in Microsoft Help and Support Portal

Microsoft recently revamp their help and support portal which definitely better user interface. As I’m searching for some article, I found something that is so interesting…….

The page definitely catch my attention with is new UI and seems easier to navigate. Once I select a link, it seems to me like a broken link.

When I look closely…… it give me a shared folder path.

To investigate again, I navigate again back to the previous page and it is very sure that the links is CORRECT!

We usually use "file//" for accessing internal server file.

So now obviously we know that there is a server named "tk2msftspskbcr1".

I think the developer who upgrade this portal don’t really do a testing before put the project to live.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Security Fault in Microsoft Help and Support Portal

  1. Steve

    Great catch, Walter!  This has now been fixed, and you can find the article you\’re looking for.
     
    Thanks for bringing this to our attention, and apologies for the inconvenience.
     
    Steve
    Steve Alter
    Community Support
    Microsoft
     
     

  2. Walter

    Hi Steve,
     
    Thank you for fixing the bugs on time. And kudos for the new UI of the support portal.
     
    fromWalter

Leave a Reply

